Education has always been at the core of the Anglican philosophy.  Indeed, Hale School, the oldest independent boys’ school in Western Australia, was founded in 1858 by the first Anglican Bishop of Perth, Dr Mathew Blagden Hale, a clergyman, educator and social pioneer.

Since then, the Diocese has always made the provision of quality education a priority.  As well as the Independent schools for both boys and girls, the Diocese now has through its Anglican Schools Commission  9 low-fee Anglican Community Schools throughout Western Australia providing a high quality, co-educational, inclusive, caring Christian education.

All of our schools are members of the Western Australian Anglican Schools Association.

Anglican Schools Commission

ASC 30th logoThe Diocese of Perth established the Anglican Schools Commission in 1985 to provide Anglican families, and others, with ready access to affordable Christian education in the Anglican tradition. It recognised that existing independent Anglican schools, while offering excellent education and fine facilities, were beyond the reach of most people.

The co-educational, low-fee Anglican day schools are socio-economically comprehensive, overtly Christian in emphasis and accessible to the disadvantaged and children with disabilities.

The Anglican Schools Commission now has 14 schools across Australia. There are 11 in Western Australia, two in country Victoria and one in the border district of New South Wales/Victoria with campuses in Albury and Wodonga. Each school in Western Australia is known as an ‘Anglican Community School’ or ‘Anglican School’ and all have been established in developing areas.

A Religious Studies Curriculum for Anglican Schools is available on the Anglican Schools Commission website – and also via the WAASA website. These materials are password protected. Please contact your Head of Religious Studies or for login details.

For information about each of the Anglican Schools Commission schools, please visit their websites:

The Western Australian Anglican Schools Association

WAASA Logo_Colour_Hi ResThe Western Australian Anglican Schools Association (WAASA) comprises Anglican schools (both systemic and autonomous) and other appropriate bodies throughout Western Australia. The Archbishop of Perth or his nominee chairs WAASA. The Association meets twice yearly to:

  • consult on issues of significant concern;
  • establish terms of reference for, and appoint members of, the Standing Committee; and
  • receive reports and recommendations (where appropriate) from the Association’s Standing Committee.

WAASA has its own website at

A Religious Studies Curriculum for Anglican Schools is available on the Anglican Schools Commission website – and also via the WAASA website. These materials are password protected. Please contact your Head of Religious Studies or for login details.

Anglican Schools Australia

St George's College

St George’s College, founded in 1931, is the oldest residential college at The University of Western Australia.

It has 218 residents, evenly divided between women and men, who all study undergraduate or postgraduate courses at The University of Western Australia.  College residents are supported by St George’s well-developed academic, tutorial, pastoral, and cultural programs and systems.  These enrich the lives of its residents and provide them with opportunities and experiences in an encouraging and well-managed environment.  The College has a blend of residents from regional Western Australia, metropolitan Perth, overseas and interstate.

St George’s is located directly opposite UWA and between the Swan River and King’s Park.  Its original buildings and chapel, in the Victorian Gothic Revival style, represent one of the most attractive and important precincts of historical buildings in Western Australia.  The College also has heritage-listed gardens that frame its buildings.

The College is an Anglican foundation that was established pursuant to a major bequest by Sir Winthrop Hackett, first Chancellor of The University of Western Australia, who died in 1916.  Students from every background are welcome at St George’s and add to the diversity of skills and outlooks that the College encourages.

Visit the St George’s College website for more information –

Universities and Colleges of Higher Education

 Edith Cowan University, Curtin University, Murdoch University and the University of WA all receive part-time Anglican chaplaincy in an ecumenical and interfaith context.

University Chaplains work gently and generously to commend Christian faith and service in one of the most religiously diverse ministry contexts of our time.  With foreign as well as local students, and with staff and students from many different faith backgrounds and none, each chaplain finds a way of offering pastoral presence, intellectual engagement and personal support on campus.

Many faithful Anglicans, both lay and ordained, study and work on university campuses. As in any school or workplace, although they may hold a job or attend a class that is not specifically religious, they add another dimension of Christian witness to the intellectual and cultural world they inhabit.  Some add to the visible Christian presence.   At UWA, St George's College is an Anglican foundation which offers chaplaincy to residents. At Murdoch University, theological and biblical scholars are on the teaching and research staff in a programme that offers both undergraduate and graduate study.  All contribute to the engagement of Christian faith with the best minds and the richest mixture of ideas that Australian academic culture has to offer.