The Anglican Church

The Anglican Church of Australia is part of the Anglican Communion an international community of Anglicans in over 160 countries.  The Anglican church is a community of Christians committed to serving Christ faithfully in our daily lives.

In Australia, the Church is organised into 23 dioceses grouped into five provinces.

On 11 August 1914 the Province of Western Australia was established. This province consists of three dioceses:  Perth, Bunbury and the North West. The Constitution of the Anglican Church of Australia prescribes that there ‘shall be a Metropolitan (to be called Archbishop) of each province of this Church’.  The Bishop of the Diocese of Perth, therefore, is a Metropolitan and has the title Archbishop. Bishop Riley was made the first Metropolitan of Western Australia and Archbishop of Perth in 1914. The Province of Western Australia has its own Constitution, which allows inter alia for the establishment of a Provincial Council and outlines the process for appointing the Metropolitan. The Provincial Council generally meets twice per year (March and September).