The Five Marks of Mission

The Five Marks of Mission are an important statement on mission which expresses the Anglican Communion’s common commitment to, and understanding of, God’s holistic/integral mission.

The marks of mission enable Christians of different countries and cultures, dioceses, deaneries, denominations and churches to have a common focus as they share in God’s mission in the world.

The five marks of mission are

1.To proclaim the good news of the Kingdom (TELL)
2. To teach, baptise and nurture new believers (TEACH)
3. To respond to human need by loving service (TEND)
4. To seek to transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence     of every kind and to pursue peace and reconciliation (TRANSFORM)
5. To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation, and sustain and renew the life of the earth (TREASURE)