History of the Diocese of Perth

In 1847 the church in Western Australia was part of the Diocese of Adelaide.

In 1854 the Colonial Bishoprics Council appointed a committee to raise endowment and petitioned the Queen for Letters Patent to create a new See.

Bishop Augustus Short nominated as bishop his Archdeacon The Reverend Mathew Blagden Hale, who had accompanied the bishop on his first visit to the West in 1848, and had wide experience within the colony of South Australia and the added attraction was that he had private means.

On 11 January 1856, Queen Victoria issued Letters Patent, creating the Diocese of Perth and simultaneously granting Perth the status of a city.  In July Hale visited Perth en route to England for his consecration.  He was consecrated in Lambeth Palace Chapel on 25 July 1857 and returned to Perth to take up his duties on 1 January 1858, designating Old St George’s Church as the Cathedral.

The first Synod was held on 21 August 1872 where the Constitution of the Diocese of Perth was passed and adopted.

In 1903 a New Diocese Statute was passed forming the Diocese of Bunbury and at the same time a statute was passed giving power to that Diocese to administer what is now the North West Diocese. 

On 24 August 1981 the change of name to The Anglican Church of Australia became effective having been passed by legislation in all states.

Over the past 157 years in this part of Australia, in remote rural settlements, in preoccupied suburbia through sophisticated city to isolated townships the Good News is proclaimed, in Worship, Word and Witness.   The Gospel is acted out in hospitals, prisons, schools, universities, aged care, in responding to the homeless and the poor in prophetic engagement, in healthy debate, and in servant leadership.