Anglican Christianity

Combined ShapePathAbout the ChurchPathWhat we BelievePathAnglican Christianity

Anglican Christianity

Anglican Christianity is characterised by its value of ‘unity in essentials, liberty in doubt, and charity in all things’. This means that within the essential parameters of the creeds, the scriptures, the sacraments, and the threefold ministry, a legitimate diversity of opinion and practice exists amongst Anglicans. This diversity has made Anglicanism a rich and unique synthesis of the catholic, evangelical, liberal, charismatic and contemplative traditions of Christianity.

Like all Christians, Anglicans profess the faith of the Church as expressed in the Creeds. A summary of Anglican belief can also be found in The Catechism which is primarily used for the instruction of those to be baptised and confirmed.

Anglican worship is conducted according to the Prayer Book which contains the authorised liturgies for the celebration of rites and sacraments. Most Australian Anglicans use A Prayer Book for Australia (APBA) as the basis for our common prayer.

    Five Marks of Mission

    Anglicans also strive to live in a manner that is consistent with faith in Jesus and the values of the Gospel – in particular, the Five Marks of Mission commit Anglicans to the work of advancing God’s reign in the world:

    1. To tell is to proclaim the good news of the Kingdom.
    2. To teach is to teach, baptise and nurture new believers.
    3. To tend is to respond to human need by loving service.
    4. To transform is to seek to change unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind, and to pursue peace and reconciliation.
    5. To treasure is to safeguard the integrity of creation, and sustain and renew the life of the earth.

    You are warmly invited to contact or visit an Anglican church near you to learn more about the Anglican tradition.

    Five marks of mission