Archbishop of Perth

Archbishop of Perth

Kay Goldsworthy, AO

Follow Archbishop Kay on Facebook
Combined ShapePathArchbishop of Perth

Kay Goldsworthy, Archbishop of Perth

Archbishop Kay Goldsworthy AO was born and called to ministry in the Diocese of Melbourne.

Kay left a career in hospitality to study at Trinity College within the University of Melbourne and the United Faculty of Theology in Parkville, before serving in the Parishes of Thomastown/Epping and Deer Park/St Albans.

She was ordained Deaconess in 1984 and Deacon in 1986, where she worked in the parishes of Thomastown and Deer Park in Melbourne. In 1988, she was appointed Chaplain to Perth College in the Diocese of Perth and was among the first women in Australia to be ordained to the priesthood by Archbishop Peter Carnley on 7 March 1992.

Kay has served the Diocese of Perth as Rector of St David’s Applecross, and as Canon of St George’s Cathedral, Archdeacon of Fremantle, Archdeacon of Perth, Diocesan Registrar and Diocesan Administrator. Kay was appointed Assistant Bishop by Archbishop Roger Herft and was the first woman ordained to the episcopate in Australia on 22 May 2008.

During her time in Perth, Kay served as a Trustee of the Diocese of Perth and a member of the Boards of Anglicare, Amana Living Inc, and is Chair of the Partnership in Mission Committee and GFS – An Anglican Ministry.

On the international scene Kay has been a clerical member of the Anglican Consultative Council, while contributing to the national church on the General Synod Standing Committee and various General Synod Commissions.

  • On 11 December 2014 Bishop Kay was elected to become the diocesan bishop of the Diocese of Gippsland and was installed on 21 March 2015.
  • In the Australian 2017 Queen's Birthday Honours List, she was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for "distinguished service to religion through the Anglican Church of Australia, as a pioneer and role model for women, to church administration, and to pastoral care and equality".
  • On 21 August 2017 Bishop Kay was elected as the Eighth Archbishop of Perth and Metropolitan of the Province of Western Australia. On 10 February 2018, Kay was installed as the first female archbishop in the Anglican Church of Australia.

From the Archbishop

Episcopal Team

The Right Reverend Jeremy James tssf

On 6 August 2014, The Right Reverend Jeremy James was consecrated as Assistant Bishop for the Anglican Diocese of Perth.

The Right Reverend Kate Wilmot

On Thursday 6 August 2015, The Right Reverend Kate Wilmot was consecrated as Assistant Bishop of Perth.

The Reverend Jacob Legarda

Archbishop’s Chaplain

The Venerable Angela Webb

Archdeacon of Perth and the South

The Venerable Tony Drayton

Archdeacon of the North

The Venerable Kathy Barrett-Lennard

Archdeacon to the Rural Communities

The Venerable Onesimo Yugusuk

Archdeacon to the Sudanese Communities

The Venerable Mandy Herriman

Archdeacon to the Household of Deacons

Former Archbishops

Roger Herft

The Seventh Archbishop of Perth (2005 – 2017)

Dr Peter F Carnley, AC

The Sixth Archbishop of Perth (1981-2005) and Primate of the Anglican Church in Australia (2000-2005)

Geoffrey Tremayne Sambell

The Fifth Archbishop of Perth (1969-1980)

George Appleton

The Fourth Archbishop of Perth (1963-1969)

Robert William Haines Moline

Third Archbishop of Perth (1947–1962)

Henry Frewen Le Fanu

The Second Archbishop of Perth (1929-1946) and Primate of the Anglican Church of Australia (1935-1946)

The Most Reverend Charles Riley

The Third Bishop of Perth (1895-1914) and First Archbishop of Perth (1914-1929)

Henry Hutton Parry

The Second Bishop of Perth (1876-1893)

Mathew Bladgen Hale

The First Bishop of Perth (1857 – 1875)