Governance in the Diocese of Perth

In this section you will find information about the governing bodies of the Diocese of Perth, such as Diocesan Council and Synod.

The Archbishop of the Diocese is elected by a Committee appointed by the Synod.  The Archbishop is the President of Synod and Chairperson of the Diocesan Council.  The Archbishop is responsible for: ordination of priests and deacons; consecration and investment of assistant bishops; consecration of churches; induction and licensing of clergy; oversight of the clergy and appointment of officers in the Diocese.

The Synod of the Diocese of Perth meets annually to pass legislation and transact other business related to the governance of the Diocese of Perth.

The Diocesan Council has carriage of the business of Synod between sessions; as well as providing advice and assistance to the Bishop on a range of matters, in particular, the temporal or business affairs of the Diocese.

The Perth Diocesan Trustees has responsibility for property and assets within the Diocese.  The Trustees ensure that diocesan and parish properties are properly maintained and used in an optimum way, develop investment policy, and provide oversight of the management of trust funds.

Other committees and boards take responsibility for particular ministries or tasks, as delegated by the Synod, Diocesan Council, Trustees or the Archbishop.

Rectors and Priests-in-Charge of parishes lead their parishes, assisted by church Wardens and the Parish Council.

The Governance of the Diocese is supported by the staff of the Diocesan Office, including the Diocesan Secretary, Diocesan Registrar and the Chief Financial Officer.